The Veneto

Worldwide /  Europe /  Italy /  The Veneto
Map Loading
in The Veneto

Destination Information

The Veneto extends from the southern slopes of the Alps to the Adriatic Sea. In addition to its capital, Venice, it contains the great cities of Padua, Vicenza and Verona. The Venetian nobility built magnificent villas along the famed Brenta Canal, of which three are accessible to the public: the Villa Foscari, Villa Widmann-Foscari and the Villa Pisani. The Veneto is an important winegrowing area, and its most famous wines include Soave, Bardolino, Amarone, Prosecco, Valpolicella and Pinot Grigio. Remains from the pressed grapes are distilled to produce grappa.